Alberta which is a prairie province in Canada, was formed a province in September 1905. Alberta has been named in honor of Princess Louise Caroline Alberta (1848–1939) who was one of the daughters of Prince Albert and Queen Victoria.

Alberta is situated in western Canada and is bound by British Columbia on the west and Saskatchewan on the east. The Northwest Territories lie on the north, while the American state of Montana is located towards the south. It is also a landlocked Canadian province just like Saskatchewan. Alberta occupies a total area of 255,500 sq mi making it the fourth biggest province in Canada after Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia. Except the southeastern sectors, Alberta has a good deal of water resources that are used for purposes like swimming, fishing, water skiing and other water sports. Several National Parks located in the Rocky Mountains made Alberta preferred travel destination to Canadians and tourists from all over the world: Banff National Park, Jasper National Park and Glacier National Park are a must see.

Alberta experiences dry and continental climate characterized by warm summers as well as cold winters. The influence of the northern chilled arctic weather results in extreme cold climatic conditions especially in winter. Since Alberta extends to more than 750 miles from north to the south, there are considerable variations in climate between the two regions. In January, average temperatures move between -8 degrees centigrade in south to -24 degrees centigrade in north. In July, the temperature ranges from 24 degrees centigrade in south to 16 degrees centigrade towards the north.

Alberta province belonged to Rupert’s Land since the time of incorporation of Hudson’s Bay Company in 1670. After the French arrived in the north-western part of the province around 1731, they began settling in the prairies located on the west. In 1803, portions of Alberta and Saskatchewan were bought over by U.S.A from France as a part of the Louisiana Purchase. Alberta got ceded to Great Britain in 1818. Alberta district was formed in 1882 as a part of Northwest Territories. Subsequent to a prolonged campaign for autonomy, the district of Alberta attained provincial status in 1905.

Alberta has experienced comparatively higher population growth later, on account of the burgeoning economy. Between the periods of 2003 to 2004, there were higher birthrates, and higher immigration in comparison to several other provinces. The CalgaryEdmonton area is densely populated and most urbanized of all areas in Alberta. Ethnic diversity is an important feature of Alberta with many immigrants originating from Scotland, Ireland, Wales and other parts of Europe.

The economy of Alberta is regarded as among the strongest in Canada on account of the petroleum industry and to some extent technology and agriculture. Alberta is a large producer of crude oil, natural gas, and synthetic crude in Canada. The capital city of the province called Edmonton is situated in the center of Alberta with majority of oil refineries of the nation located nearby.

Some of the major cities in Alberta are:

• Edmonton
• Calgary
• Red Deer

Famous people
A few of the notable personalities from Alberta include:

• Lanny McDonald - Hockey Player
• Paul Brandt - country singer
• Trisha Helfer - model/actress